Persistence is checked on chat start-up/load and not continuously during runtime. The chatter history and info will remain as long as the chat is not refreshed.
“Forget After Tab Close” stores the chatter in session storage instead of local storage. This means that if the tab is closed and re-opened, the chatter is forgotten, and the variables (including OAuth) are reset. If the tab is not closed, the chatter persistence will not refresh.
Global variables will persist across all conversations under a single chatter_id, available both in content and the “chatter info” modal.
Accounting for Multiple Users on the Same Device
If you want to pass metavariables that contain user information when they're signed in on a website, you should use the reset() action before signing out. This is to ensure that another user on the same computer doesn’t see any previous chat history or be assigned the previous chatter's metavariables.